Mix and Match Pot Pie

Pot Pie 5

This is the best pot pie recipe I’ve ever had – mostly because it’s mix and match, adapted from this recipe from Midwest Living. You can use whatever meat and veggies you have and whatever spices would complement them. It turns out different every time, but it’s always good!

Ingredients
• 3/4 to 1 c. aromatic veggies, chopped (I used frozen onions, green peppers and celery)
• 3-4 T. butter
• 1/3 c. flour
• Pinch of salt and pepper
• Pinch of seasonings such as oregano, thyme or rosemary (I used oregano)
• 1 1/4 c. broth (in a complementary flavor for the meat you use)
• 3/4 c. half-and-half or other similar dairy (I used half-and-half from last week’s shopping trip)
• 1 c. cooked meat, chopped (I used chipotle marinated chicken from a previous dinner)
• 1 c. frozen veggie or canned corn (I used corn but you can use any sturdy veggie that won’t break down in the cooking)
• 1 pie crust (I used refrigerated crust)

Method
Melt butter over medium heat in a cast iron skillet and add aromatic veggies. (Have I mentioned how much I love my cast iron skillet for meals that go from stove top to oven?) Cook 4-5 minutes.

Pot Pie 6

Pot Pie 7

Add flour, salt, pepper and seasonings. Stir well and cook until the flour begins to brown. Don’t skip the cooking here since you don’t want the sauce to taste like flour.

Pot Pie 8

Add broth and half-and-half. Cook, stirring frequently, until it bubbles and begins to thicken. Make sure you break up any clumps of aromatic/flour mixture.

Pot Pie 9

Add meat and veggie and stir thoroughly.

Pot Pie 10

Top with pie crust. You don’t need to bother trying to seal the edges. I prefer to have my crust poke up a bit at the edges because I love crispy crusty bits. Cut slits or shapes in the crust for venting.

Pot Pie 11

Cook at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until crust is done. Serve by itself or with a side salad or other veggie.

Pot Pie 4

3 thoughts on “Mix and Match Pot Pie

  1. […] Tuesday: chicken pot pie […]

  2. […] Sunday:  (B) sausage and eggs, fruit; (L) leftovers; (D) mix and match pot pie […]

  3. […] Tuesday: turkey pot pie […]

Leave a Reply

