When the Answer is No

DSCF5519

I don’t live on Manchester Road, but last year, I thought I was going to. I was four months pregnant, and we were spending a few days looking at houses in preparation for our move to Kansas. We found a great house that we loved. It was fairly inexpensive because it needed a little work, but it had a great layout and location. We looked at it twice, and, in my mind, I moved in.

The last time we looked at it was on a Friday, just before we went back to South Dakota on a Saturday. We spent most of Saturday’s drive discussing improvements we were going to make to our house: new floors, new kitchen cabinets, new paint, etc. On Sunday, we went to Menard’s (the hardware store) and picked out all kinds of new things for our new house.

On Monday, I faxed a written offer to the realtor. A few hours later, I received a devastating response. We were too late. Someone else had made an offer on the house and the buyers were negotiating with them. Apparently, the buyers did not intend to give us the option to make another offer, so we were out of the running for that house.

I literally cried. I had been so sure that was going to be my new house! So sure that I’d be bringing my baby home there. So sure he’d grow up playing on that back patio. So sure my husband and I would be painting those walls. But it was gone?! Surely God wanted us to have that house, right?

No. The answer was no. Come to think of it…did I even ask? I honestly don’t remember. Perhaps God was answering my unspoken question. It didn’t make any sense to me at the time, but it makes total sense to me now.

A few weeks later, we made an offer on another house, sight unseen, and we live in that house today. This house is so much better for our needs than the one we wanted! Of course, we didn’t know that at the time. God did. Like a parent providing boundaries for his child, he did not let us choose what we thought we wanted because he had something better for us, and for that I am so grateful!

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “When the Answer is No

  1. Autumn February 14, 2013 at 7:50 am Reply

    So true. I can say this has happened to me more than once.

  2. Cheri February 22, 2013 at 12:48 pm Reply

    We have bought two houses in the past and God blessed us through both experiences. One other house we were in the process of purchasing and God led us to cancel that purchase. In hindsight it was a good thing because it would have been a big mistake.

Leave a Reply

