Grandma’s Cream Cheese Frosting

 

Don't judge the cake by its looks -- it tasted amazing, I promise.

Don’t judge the cake by its looks — it tasted amazing.

Cream cheese frosting is one of those things I just assumed I could never make from scratch. It just tastes so good, I guess I thought it had to be difficult. But, I was looking for something to make for dessert last week and pulled Grandma’s frosting recipe out of my recipe file.

I had an overstock of cream cheese in my non-working fridge so this was a perfect fit. Now that I’ve made it from scratch, I won’t go back to store-bought again. It’s super easy and much, much yummier! As usual, Grandma knew what she was doing.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2-3 c. powdered sugar
  • milk (optional)

Method

Before you start, you should choose how you’d like to mix this together. Your options: by hand, with a hand-held mixer or in a stand mixer. While I’m sure Grandma mixed by hand, I use a hand-held mixer. If you decide to go the hand-held route, make sure you hold on tight since this frosting is thick and the mixer can get a bit…unruly.

DSCF5773

Mix the butter, cream cheese and vanilla thoroughly. Then, slowly add the powdered sugar. If you add too much at once, large portions of your kitchen may be covered with a fine dusting of sugar as it flies out of the bowl.

This frosting is thick so if you need something thinner for your particular project, I recommend adding a small amount of milk (a spoonful at a time) until you reach the desired consistency.

This frosting tastes great on red velvet cake or by the spoonful — your choice.

DSCF5788

Tagged:

One thought on “Grandma’s Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. […] cream cheese frosting (instructions here but use 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c.). Spread frosting between layers and on the top of the cake. […]

Leave a Reply

