Book Review: The Icecutter’s Daughter

IcecuttersDaughter

Before Eli was born, one of my favorite downtime activities was reading. I’ll read just about anything, but I particularly enjoy Christian fiction because it tends to be clean and wholesome. This book, sent to me by the publisher for review, is only the second book I’ve managed to finish since the little squirt came along!

The book’s main character, Merrill Krause, works with her father and brothers in their ice cutting business in turn-of-the-century Minnesota. Rurik Jorgenson comes from Kansas to Merrill’s town to help his ailing uncle in his furniture business. Shortly after, Rurik’s former fiancé and her brother show up in town claiming Rurik has to marry his former intended. Of course, all ends well, but the journey is a fun read.

My favorite thing about this book was the enjoyable characters and the pace of the plot. The author, Tracie Peterson, did a wonderful job of developing side characters along with the main characters. Rurik and Merrill’s family members and friends take shape through the book instead of being one-dimensional as is the case in many books. This helps me visualize the characters as if I was a part of the story.

The pace of the plot was perfect. Not too fast, as if the author is trying to rush through uninteresting elements to get to the interesting stuff. Not so slow as to be boring, either. It was a tough book to put down, which — as far as I’m concerned — makes it a good read 🙂 I’ll definitely look for more books from this author.

One thought on “Book Review: The Icecutter’s Daughter

  1. loggerswife112 April 20, 2013 at 6:54 am Reply

    I love Tracie Peterson! I’m a little bummed I wasn’t able to get this one but I’m a bit behind on my book reviews.

Leave a Reply

