Book Review: The Christian Mama’s Guide to Baby’s First Year

christian moms guide

This book would have been a great read for me right before my baby was born and (if I had time to read!) when he was just a few months old. It might have made me a little less nuts about things when he was smaller…or, at least I would have known I was being nuts.

At 219 pages, the book is a relatively short read given the scope of information it covers. In down-to-earth language, the author discusses everything from breastfeeding to losing weight after the baby is born, but she does it in a way that is easy to read and full of humor.

I particularly liked the way the author avoided sugar-coating topics or talking about life with a new baby like it’s all some sort of magical snuggly time. After having my kiddo, my reality seemed a lot harsher than the happy little sunshine world some moms seem to experience, and I appreciate the way this author acknowledged that life isn’t all sunshine and roses with a new little one. (She does, however, conclude with a touching story about washing her youngest child’s shirt and being grateful that she has a shirt to wash and being grateful he’s young for another day.)

The best feature of this book is the author’s knack for communicating about real life with a new baby. It’s not full of sage, grandmotherly advice. Instead, it’s the kind of advice you might get from a close friend (the kind of friend who’s willing to talk to you about bodily functions after you give birth).

I heartily recommend this book for first-time moms, and it would be a great book to give as a baby shower gift. There are other books written by this author to address other times in a child’s life, too.

This book was given to me by the publisher for this review. The thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

