Book Review: The Guardian

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back Cover: When Jodi Winfield comes to Lancaster to house-sit, the last thing she expects to find is a disheveled little girl alone on the side of the road. The young teacher is mystified when she learns there have been no reports of a missing child, and the girl herself is no help, since she can’t speak English. It’s as if the child appeared out of nowhere. Then Jodi turns her attention to Hickory Hollow and the cloistered world of the Old Order Amish in search of answers.

Maybe I started reading this book on the wrong day or maybe I just don’t like Amish fiction…I don’t know. But, I didn’t like it. The author is quite popular, so I was hoping for a great read when I chose this book to review.

Instead, the mystery of where the lost girl lives was solved in the first quarter of the book and the rest of the book bogs down in several plot lines that just didn’t interest me. Also, the author seemed to include a lot of unnecessary detail like German words and street names as if to prove to the reader she did a lot of research for the book.

Overall, I wouldn’t pick up a book by this author again, but if you like Amish fiction, it might be just perfect for you.

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for this review. The thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

