Garden Update

My poor garden has survived hail, crazy high winds, a beetle infestation, incredible heat and my general forgetfulness, but still it survives! And, with the recent heavy rains and sunny days here, it’s actually thriving!

Garden in June

As you can see, my hubby hooked up an amazing zone watering system for me. There are soaker hoses and a sprinkler spread around the garden and hooked together with a manifold that allows me to change the watering zone with just a twist of a valve handle. It saves so much time and water that I don’t even want to think about gardening without it.

These vine plants will grow cantaloupe, watermelons, squash and pumpkins...but I can't remember which ones are which!

These vine plants will grow cantaloupe, watermelons, squash and pumpkins…but I can’t remember which ones are which!

I planted about a dozen tomato plants, but they were beaten down hard by the hail. Now, they're coming back and even starting to produce a few fruits.

I planted about a dozen tomato plants, but they were beaten down hard by the hail. Now, they’re coming back and even starting to produce a few fruits.

These are sugar snap peas, one of my favorite veggies. They're climbing up the chicken wire finally and starting to make buds.

These are sugar snap peas, one of my favorite veggies. They’re climbing up the chicken wire finally and starting to make buds.

My turnips and lettuce were attacked by baby beetles one night, but after a little spraying the beetles disappeared. The lettuce came back just fine but the turnips look a bit like skeletons.

My turnips and lettuce were attacked by baby beetles one night, but after a little spraying the beetles disappeared. The lettuce came back just fine but the turnips look a bit like skeletons. The potatoes (left) are growing quite well, though.

We planted our berry bushes just before a nasty frost, and it's taken some time for them to come back. Protecting them with tires helps a great deal.

We planted our berry bushes just before a nasty frost, and it’s taken some time for them to come back. Protecting them with tires helps a great deal.

Leave a Reply

