Spicy Braised Beef

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I mentioned a while back, Muir Glen sent me some of their products and recipes to try. Now that my oven is back up and running (yay!), I tried their recipe for spicy braised beef using their special yellow and red fire-roasted tomatoes.

The dish tasted great–kind of like a beef stew with the spicy, fresh flavors of tomatillos, jalapeno and cilantro. But it took much longer for me than the one-hour time on the recipe. Next time, I think I’ll try making it in the crock pot instead.

(By the way, I discovered none of the stores in Colby carry tomatillos or fresh jalapenos. So, if you’re in the northwest Kansas area and want to make this recipe, try the Walmart store in Goodland.)

Here is the original recipe, along with my notes for next time.

Ingredients

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 large onion, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 5 tomatillos, paper skin removed, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 jalapeno, stemmed, seeded, thinly sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped (I used a few dashes of garlic powder instead since garlic is so expensive)
  • 2 lb beef roast, fat trimmed, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 cans (14.5-oz) Muir Glen organic or harvest sunset fire roasted diced red and yellow tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 carton (32 oz) beef stock
  • 1 lb Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks (I used a mixture of potatoes from our garden and did not peel them)
  • 1/4 c. coarsely chopped fresh cilantro

Method

From the Recipe: Heat oven to 275 degrees. In a 5-quart ovenproof Dutch oven, cook olive oil and onion over medium heat 4 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned. Set aside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add tomatillos, jalapeno chile and garlic; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add beef, salt and pepper; cook 4 minutes or until beef is browned. Add tomatoes; cook 3 minutes. Add stock and potatoes; heat to simmering.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cover; bake about 1 hour or until no longer pink. (Note: my potatoes were still very crunchy after an hour and the beef was not tender, so I think this probably needed at least another hour. I ended up finishing it on the stovetop.) Remove from oven; let stand 20 minutes before serving. Stir in cilantro and serve in warmed bowls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My Method: Put all ingredients except cilantro into a crock pot. Cover and cook on low for about 6 hours. Stir in cilantro and enjoy. (Caution: I have not actually tried this method yet. But, I really think it will be almost as yummy and a lot less involved!)

 

Leave a Reply

