Pumpkin Bounty

We planted a small bag of jumbo pumpkin seeds this year, and these plants were quite fruitful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, I parked all of the orange ones on our deck as decoration, but I’m not really sure what to do with them otherwise.

I usually limit my pumpkin involvement to carving one at Halloween time. I’m sure we’ll carve a couple if they last until then, but I have no idea what to do with the rest…other than let them sit festively on the front porch until they get icky.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, Eli isn’t quite sure what to do with them either.

Anyone have any ideas?

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bounty

  1. Julie @Logger's Wife August 30, 2013 at 3:00 pm Reply

    Cut them into wedges, bake at 350 for about 45-60 minutes with a little bit of water in the pan. Remove the flesh and stick in a food processor. Drain in a cheesecloth lined strainer. Freeze in 1 cup bags. I have so much pumpkin in my freezer from doing this I never buy canned pumpkin. I make pumpkin bread, pumpkin cinnamon rolls, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, etc.

    • heatheralwin September 1, 2013 at 10:48 pm Reply

      Thanks for the tip! I was wondering how I could wrangle them into the oven to bake them, but I never thought of cutting them into wedges. Duh!

Leave a Reply

