Freezing Green Beans

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It makes me very nervous to can green beans since they are so susceptible to bacterial infections. Plus, I’m scared of my pressure canner and canning them takes so long. So…time for the freezer again!

Freezing beans is pretty easy. Like carrots, it’s a straightforward process of wash, trim, blanch, dry and freeze.

Step 1: Wash the beans. I trimmed the ends off just before washing, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 2: Blanch the beans. Working in batches, dump them in boiling water and let them boil for a minute or two. Then, plunge them into cold water. This process stops the enzymes that age the beans. Without blanching, they get mushy and gross.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 3: Let the beans dry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 4: Package them. I like to store them in sandwich-size Ziploc baggies, sucking out the air with a straw before sealing them. This helps reduce freezer burn–those nasty little ice crystals don’t have much room to form when there’s no air in the baggie.

I shove a bunch of little baggies inside a big gallon-size freezer bag before stashing them in the freezer. They keep longer this way and aren’t as hard to find as they would be if I froze each bag individually. Who needs to waste time digging around for a baggie of green beans while the rest of dinner is boiling over on the stove?

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Freezing Green Beans

  1. Julie @Logger's Wife October 9, 2013 at 7:27 am Reply

    We froze so many green beans last year, I didn’t have to buy any until February. I just froze a bunch on Saturday but I don’t think we will have as many this year. The garden didn’t take off well and I’m pretty sure we had a frost last night. (But I’m okay with that as I am so tired of having a table full of produce needing my attention. lol)

    • heatheralwin October 10, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

      I know what you mean — it seems like I’ve had a colander or two of produce waiting for me to preserve it on a regular basis since July!

Leave a Reply

