Dehydrated Marshmallows

While we were on our trip to Indiana last week, we discovered an Amish store that sells big bags of the dehydrated marshmallows that come in cereal. You know — the best part of Lucky Charms.

All in a bag by themselves without any of the useless cereal. Yum!

That got me to thinking…why can’t I do that myself with regular store-bought mallows and a food dehydrator?

As it turns out, I can! They’re not quite the same, but they’re pretty darn close. Definitely close enough when my alternative is ordering online or traveling halfway across the country to an Amish store.

It’s a simple process: spread a bag of mallows onto the trays of a food dehydrator, set at 135 degrees or so for about four hours. Done!

Don’t expect a big visual change, though. Here are my mallows before:

mallows before

And here they are after being dehydrated to a crisp:

mallows after

Pretty much the same. Yummy, though, and perhaps a great trick to play on someone who is expecting a soft, fluffy mallow and gets a crispy one.

I’d be these things will keep forever, along with mustard and spam and other things that never expire. I doubt they’ll last that long around here, though!

 

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Dehydrated Marshmallows

  1. Dehydrating Corn | My Kansas Life November 7, 2013 at 10:15 am Reply

    […] the marshmallows I told you about recently, corn is super easy to dehydrate. Basically, you just have to pull it out […]

  2. Jami Gann March 1, 2015 at 1:04 am Reply

    Hello, could you possibly tell me which store & city you found these in? I live in indiana & I’d love to be able to buy them locally.
    Thanks!

    • heatheralwin March 1, 2015 at 10:54 am Reply

      I can’t remember the name of the place…Yoder’s maybe? It was on the main north/south highway in Shipshewana, and I think it was south of the auction site. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

