Caramel Corn

popcorn

The most amazing caramel corn in the world is at Chicago-based Garrett’s Popcorn, but I don’t get through Chicago very often so I was so happy to find this great recipe from The Popcorn Board. It has the same great almost-burnt, deep caramel flavor I love about Garrett’s.

Give it a try–it’s not too difficult and it’s delicious! I like it so much I made several batches to hand out as Christmas gifts this year.

Ingredients

  • 2 quarts popped popcorn
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Method

Pop your popcorn first and remove any unpopped kernels. I recommend using an air popper or stove-top popper rather than microwave popcorn since the flavor is cleaner.

Combine brown sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt in a large, heavy pot over medium heat. Stir to combine as it melts.

DSCF6603

Once the mixture comes to a full boil, let it boil for five minutes. If you are at a high altitude, you’ll have to boil it for longer, about seven to eight minutes. The goal is to get the caramel as close to burning as possible without actually burning it. You should notice the mixture darkening a bit.

DSCF6607

Remove the mixture from the heat and stir in the baking powder. The caramel will foam a bit.

Pour the caramel over the corn or add the corn into the caramel pot. Mix well.

Spread the corn onto a baking sheet to cool. Once cooled, break into pieces and enjoy.

DSCF6614

One thought on “Caramel Corn

  1. Julie @Logger's Wife December 31, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

    A tip to anyone wanting to make this: Never, ever use a plastic spoon to stir. Use a wooden one. I have some big plastic spoons. I tired to make caramel corn for Christmas gifts last year. When I picked my spoon up from stirring, half my spoon was missing. I had to throw the whole batch out.

Leave a Reply

