Delicious Edamame Hummus

20140725-235110-85870450.jpg

I love edamame (soybeans). In fact, I am specifically attracted to restaurant dishes that feature edamame. But other than tossing them into Chinese dishes and salads, I don’t use them much at home. Fortunately, the soybean promotion folks sent an entire booklet full of soybean recipes to the newspaper where I work sometimes and my publisher passed them onto me.

This hummus recipe was one of those in the booklet, and it is delicious! I know, it sounds weird and it looks a little weird (green mush anyone?). But it has a great, fresh flavor with just a hint of Mexican spice.

The best part of the dish is its fancy flavor without the fancy cost. The main ingredient, edamame, can be found relatively easily in the frozen veggie section of most grocery stores for just a couple of bucks. I found the particular bag I used for this batch on clearance for just $1.49!

Ingredients

  • 2 c. edamame, cooked according to package directions
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • 1/4 c. olive, soybean or vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp garlic

Method

Blend it all together until it is mostly pureed but still has a little bit of texture. How’s that for easy?

Serve chilled with crackers or other crunchy, scoopy things. With the fiber and protein the edamame provides, the hummus makes a great lunch or hearty snack.

Oh, and the little fingers in that picture above? Those belong to my kiddo who is quite the fan of Ritz crackers but refuses to try the hummus 🙂

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

